In Which I Post The First List Of Songs.

As promised in an earlier post, here’s the first round of songs that have been copied onto Peanut’s “iPod.” There are some glaring omissions (no Stevie Wonder yet), and I have many to add based on your suggestions, but I wanted to share the first round.

Leave a comment if this list brings any other songs to mind, or if there’s anything with lyrics I may have forgotten or misunderstood.

Annie Lennox, “Precious”
Arctic Monkeys, “Brainstorm”
Aretha Franklin, “Respect”
Arrested Development, “Mr. Wendel”
Beach Boys, “California Girls”
Beach Boys, “Fun, Fun, Fun”
Beach Boys, “Good Vibrations”
Beach Boys, “Wouldn’t It Be Nice”
Beck, “E-Pro”
Bee Gees, “Stayin’ Alive”
Ben E. King, “Stand By Me”
Bill Haley And The Comets, “Rock Around The Clock”
Bill Withers, “Ain’t No Sunshine”
Billy Joel, “It’s Still Rock And Roll To Me”
Boston, “More Than A Feeling”
Boston, “Rock & Roll Band”
Bruce Springsteen, “Born In The USA”
Caedmon’s Call, “Step by Step”
Chuck Berry, “Route 66”
Coldplay, “Clocks”
Commodores, “Brick House”
Crosby Stills & Nash, “Marrakesh Express”
Crosby Stills & Nash, “Suite: Judy Blue Eyes”
Crosby, Stills & Nash, “Teach Your Children”
Duane Eddy, “Peter Gunn”
Elton John, “Rocket Man”
Eric Clapton, “Layla”
Erich Kunzel & Cincinnati Pops, “Theme from Mission Impossible”
Evanescence, “Bring Me To Life”
FFH, “One Of These Days”
Foo Fighters, “Learn to Fly”
Gary Numan, “Cars”
Genesis, “I Can’t Dance”
Genesis, “Jesus He Knows Me”
Genesis, “Land of Confusion”
Genesis, “That’s All”
Genesis, “The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway”
Gnarls Barkley, “Crazy”
Gnarls Barkley, “Run (I’m A Natural Disaster)”
Grammatrain, “Less of Me”
Grateful Dead, “Touch of Grey”
Great Big Sea, “End Of The World”
Great Big Sea, “Ordinary Day”
Heart, “Barracuda”
Heart, “Crazy On You”
Herman’s Hermits, “There’s A Kind Of Hush”
Huey Lewis & The News, “Stuck With You”
Huey Lewis & The News, “The Heart Of Rock & Roll”
Huey Lewis & The News, “The Power Of Love”
INXS, “Listen Like Thieves”
INXS, “New Sensation”
Jamiroquai, “Virtual Insanity”
Jars of Clay, “If I Stand”
Jimi Hendrix, “All Along the Watchtower”
Jimi Hendrix, “Foxy Lady”
Jimi Hendrix, “Purple Haze”
Johnny Cash, “I Walk The Line”
KT Tunstall, “Suddenly I See”
Led Zeppelin, “Black Dog”
Led Zeppelin, “Kashmir”
Led Zeppelin, “Rock And Roll”
Led Zeppelin, “Stairway To Heaven”
Led Zeppelin, “When The Levee Breaks”
Lonnie Donegan, “Does Your Chewing Gum Lose Its Flavor”
Lynyrd Skynyrd, “Free Bird”
Madonna, “4 Minutes [Featuring Justin Timberlake]”
Marvin Gaye, “I Heard It Through The Grapevine”
Mike Doughty, “27 Jennifers”
Nirvana, “Smells Like Teen Spirit”
Paul Simon, “Diamonds On The Soles Of Her Shoes”
Paul Simon, “Graceland”
Paul Simon, “Kodachrome”
Paul Simon, “The Boy In The Bubble”
Paul Simon, “You Can Call Me Al”
PFR, “Shine”
PFR, “Spinnin’ Round”
PFR, “That Kind Of Love”
PFR, “Wait for the Sun”
Phil Collins, “In the Air Tonight”
Procol Harum, “A Whiter Shade of Pale”
Queen, “We Will Rock You”
Rascal Flatts, “Life Is a Highway”
Robbie Seay Band, “Song Of Hope (Heaven Come Down)”
Robert Plant & Alison Krauss, “Gone Gone Gone (Done Moved On)”
Sha Na Na, “Splish Splash”
The Allman Brothers Band, “Ramblin’ Man”
The Beatles, “And I Love Her”
The Beatles, “Blackbird”
The Beatles, “Can’t Buy Me Love”
The Beatles, “Come Together”
The Beatles, “Drive My Car”
The Beatles, “Here Comes The Sun”
The Beatles, “Revolution”
The Beatles, “Twist and Shout”
The Beatles, “When I’m Sixty Four”
The Champs, “Tequila”
The Clash, “London Calling”
The Clash, “Should I Stay Or Should I Go”
The Coasters, “Yakety Yak”
The Doobie Brothers, “China Grove”
The Doobie Brothers, “Jesus Is Just Alright”
The Doobie Brothers, “Listen To The Music”
The Eagles, “Hotel California”
The Eagles, “Lyin’ Eyes”
The Eagles, “Peaceful Easy Feeling”
The Eagles, “Take It Easy”
The Eagles, “Take It To The Limit”
The Everly Brothers, “Bye Bye Love (Live)”
The O’Jays, “Love Train”
The Surfaris, “Wipe Out”
The Tokens, “The Lion Sleeps Tonight”
Toad The Wet Sprocket, “Whatever I Fear”
U2, “All Because Of You”
U2, “Beautiful Day”
U2, “Desire”
U2, “Elevation”
U2, “”Hold Me, Thrill Me, Kiss Me, Kill Me”
U2, “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For”
U2, “Mysterious Ways”
U2, “One”
U2, “Pride (In The Name Of Love)”
U2, “Sunday Bloody Sunday”
U2, “Vertigo”
U2 & Green Day, “The Saints Are Coming”
Van Morrison, “Brown Eyed Girl”
VeggieTales, “His Cheeseburger”

5 Comments

Filed under boys, music

5 responses to “In Which I Post The First List Of Songs.

  1. michchick

    Nice! Most of those songs are on John’s mp3 as well. I also added the Relient K version of ‘The Pirates Who Don’t Do Anything’ and Chuck Berry’s ‘Johnny B. Goode’. I love the Plant/Krauss stuff! (heard a nasty rumour that LZ is going to record a new album w/o Robert Plant) Great start Paul!

  2. Shiela

    wow! I wish I had an ipod with this playlist. or knew how to do that. or had one for my 5 yo. It looks awesome. how about some creedence? Rush “lessons”? hmm. I don’t know. what a lucky kid. Luella loves Allison Krauss and (she calls him Johniffer Plant) for some reason. Happy Birthday!

  3. ok I’m going to ignore how much phil collins you’re exposing sweet little innocent peanut to. however, other than that this is an awesome list. I’m so thankful I’m not the only one who thinks Mr. Wendel is just great. Guthrie has just discovered the Violent Femmes. She hearts them. She has no idea what they’re singing about though… I think that is short lived.

  4. amyloublog

    Oh does Mr. Wendel ever bring back memories. I will always think of Byron when I hear it. Thanks for the blast from the past there Pauly!

  5. Elaine

    Somewhere Over the Rainbow by “IZ” or Israel Kamakawiwo. You’ve heard it before, I’m sure.

Leave a Reply

