In Which Chester and I Visit the Flight Museum.

I just found on my desk the blue bracelet from a field trip a few weeks back to the Boeing Museum of Flight. I’ve lived here my whole life, and that was the first time I’d ever been. It was pretty neat, but I think we missed a lot, seeing as we were there for just a couple of hours with a whole bunch of 2nd graders.

They had all kinds of historical planes and replicas of other planes, an exhibit on the WWI flying aces and the Red Baron, and an educational program where we learned all about pitch, roll and yaw. Outside they had a Concorde and Kennedy/Johnson/Nixon’s Air Force One that I walked through after the kids left to go back to school.

One of the hands-on things we played with was a little model of an airplane mounted on top of a pole, and you sat in a seat with levers and pedals that controlled the three types of motion, so you could turn to the left, roll to the right, etc.

As I was sitting there playing with it, I realized that I was making airplane noises. Rrrrrrrrrr, vroooooooommmm, rrrrrrrrrroooooowwwwwwwwwwwwwwwmmmmmmmm . . .

Slightly more embarrassing was the fact that, even after I realized that I was doing that, I could not operate the plane without making those noises.

Sometimes I am such a little boy.

(Pictures to come.)

Leave a comment

Filed under boys, seattle

Leave a Reply

