In Which My Children Are Informed, And Not So Informed.

Conversation 1:

This weekend, while cleaning out the car, Peanut said to me, “Dad, hand me that cane.”

“What cane?” I asked.

“That cane. On the floor.”

“Oh, the candy cane?” (Yes, it’s been a while since I’ve cleaned out my car.)

“Yeah. Hey, Dad, that sounds like McCain. Candy cane, McCain. You know, McCain, the Democrat?”

The whole thing sounds better in 4-year-old. Yeah, he was wrong. But he’s 4. And he knows there’s a McCain, and he knows there are Democrats.

Conversation 2:

Chester, age 8: “Who’s the Dalai Lama?”

Me: “He’s a big leader in the Buddhist religion. And kind of the President of Tibet.”

Grandpa: “You know, kind of like the Pope is the head of the Catholic Church? He’s kind of a leader like that.”

Wise One: “Do you know what Buddhist means, baby?”

Chester: “I think so.”

Wise One: “It’s the religion where they follow the teachings of Buddha.”

Chester: “Oh, I know who Buddha is. Isn’t he that famous sumo wrestler?”

1 Comment

Filed under boys, faith, politics, The Wise One

One response to “In Which My Children Are Informed, And Not So Informed.

  1. kathy

    You do know the best way to know yourself is to look at how you children act and what they know.

Leave a Reply

